Crazy About Psychopathology

December 7, 2006

I’m in the process of reading. Feel free to read along and comment as needed.

Meta-analysis of Marital therapy Outcome Research

IBCT

Feet dragging

EFT

This reminds me of all the years I smoked. I got tons and tons of advice on it and how much I needed to quit and the benefits of quitting and the bad things that would happen if I didn’t quit. There are a ton of interventions for kicking the habit, some better than others. As it turned out, I just got sick and tired of being addicted.

It also reminds me of all the horse shit that is shovelled our way regarding autism and autism interventions. Fact is, there are presently NO empircal treatments for autism. None. Many show promise, but none have met the modest criteria for being judged empirically efficacious. And yet there are all sorts of therapies, diets, books, and more books out there selling crap that is supposed to “cure” autism. Each and every vender says, “Why don’t you just TRY this? What’s the harm? Don’t you think you owe it to try every single thing you can to help your children?” Trying to guilt us into pouring money into useless crap. And it works on Arwyn many times. But now, even she has become suspicious of every “miracle cure” because we have gotten burned so many times.

There are no magic pills, diets or therapies.

D.