Date Night

You can read my review of the movie itself on my other blog.

But this is a review of the date itself.  I’m suddenly having flashbacks of Chuck Woolery.

Basically the date was sort of set up by Arwyn with help from her church which was offering childcare for couple from 6-10 p.m. which is prime time for a date night.  And it was set up for this particular movie so as many as possible could go as wanted.  The church was a good distance from the theater so after dropping the kids off, we went straight there.  We had already gotten our tickets through Fandango as she had heard that some shows were selling out.  This would not be one of those sold out showings though.

I had bought some candy for us ahead of time, which I thought was a good move.  And got some caramel/chocolate candies which is a combination she generally likes.  We waited a bit in the lobby before finding and entering our theater.  Once seated, I went and bought us each drinks.

We had good seats where we could actually stretch or put our feet up.  The theater never completely filled up but there were a lot of people there.  Almost all of them from Arwyn’s church.  This made the entire movie experience different as a parade of people came up and introduced themselves or just walked up to say ‘hi’ or just to talk.  In other words, there was a lot more chatter and talking than one would typically experience at the movies as everyone seemed to know one another.  I was a bit put off by this, as it felt like being in church rather than a movie.  Except without the need for earplugs, which is a requirement for me in her church.

Keep in mind, there was some homework that was supposed to be done.  But Arwyn sat in such a way that her hands were neatly folded in her lap.  I would have to be bold indeed to go for a hand hold.  And I was simply not feeling that bold.  I diid at various times lean against her, hoping she might lean back, but she never did.  I had MY hands readily accessible on the arm rests, but she never made any advances.  So there was no hand holding or leg rubbing during this movie.   And I wish there would have been, because the movie felt a but overly long to me.  However I can’t help but also think that the religious nature of the movie as well as being surrounded by her fellow congregants  might have worked to suppress things.  In my mind, while I was not going to rebuff or work against Arwyn, neither was I going to throw myself in front of the proverbial bus.

After the movie, on the way out, Arwyn did finally grab my hand, which was nice.  But whereas I might have wanted to dawdle and linger a bit to en joy it, she was walking very briskly.  I made the mistake of asking what time it was, thinking that maby she was worried about being late for something.  But she had no idea and the hand hold was broke as she went to fish for her phone.  And that was the end of that.  There was no more hand holding or anything at all.  It was done.  We did talk a bit about the movie on the way to get the boys but that was kind of the extent of the conversation.

The date ended when we got to the church and she picked up the boys and we drove home.  I went to my room, and the boys went to theirs and she went to hers.  No kiss good night, no sparks.

This would be the part where we see who the audience picked and I decide if I want who they pick or stick with this one.  Hmm…I wonder who the audience WOULD pick?  I might be tempted to go with their choice, simply because I am a cheapskate and the idea of letting them pick up the tab would have some appeal.

Why couldn’t I ever have any connections like this one?

4 Responses to Date Night

  1. Dave says:

    About the only thing that seems even ‘sorta-positive’ is that she did, at least, invite you along; if I remember your earlier post, she’d have gone anyway- and from what this sounds like, she would’ve had a lot of company as it was.
    It will be interesting, if your counselor asks Arwyn, to hear what she thinks of her performing the homework assignment…

    And you don’t want that connection. After all, she didn’t want another date 😉

  2. I’m curious, as well, to see how Arwyn reports back on the homework.

  3. Me three, over here. An wow, did I have some catching up to do. So first let me say 1) I’m sorry about your house and injuries. 2) I’m not sorry about the Little Elf who should be ashamed of her lack of empathy. 3) It’s positive that Arwyn offered, but to me this feels like something you would do with a friend, or that social pressure dictates having a date. 4) I will also be interested in seeing how she reports back. I don’t know how she exists the way she does, and why she can’t recognize how stagnant everything is. One can hardly blame you for being burnt out. Surely some time she’s either got to acknowledge that there’s a problem, and that it does not solely lie with you, or she’s got to let go.

  4. Xavier says:

    Huh, so you leaned in. Seems like that could be real initiation, no? And the response was …. ignorance…

Leave a Reply

