E-Cigs: An initial Review

Danielle asked about the electronic cigarrettes and when I started a reply I quickly realized this probably needed to be a post of its own.

I did not start smoking until the ripe old age of 25, and it was a way to self-medicate depression.  Then it became a a habit and an addiction.  The topography of a smoking addiction is complex because it is behavioral, physiological and emotional.  The nicotine goes straight to the pleasure center of your brain causing the nerves to light up and gives that feeling of euphoria and relaxation.  Unfortunately it is a short-lived feeling and over time that feeling lasts less and less long causing a light smoker to become a heavier one.

Over the past decade, smoking has become one of the most shameful and heavily taxed habits ever.  It is now outlawed in almost all public places, both indoors and outdoors.  The designated smoking areas are few and far between, always outside and always far away.  While people hate smoking for a lot of reasons, they seem to like smokers who tend to have more animated personalities in general.  I’ve noticed this often during breaks between classes or breaks during a job, the smokers would congregate in the designated area and lo and behold non smokers would also hang around there.  And often complain.

For my part, I have quit before, more than once.  The first time, my weight ballooned until I was morbidly obese.  So I started again, but also got serious about weight loss.  After I got down to my goal, I quit again.  I did regain a lot of weight, but not nearly as much and it was manageable for about 3 years.  And then I was unemployed and started again about a year ago.  Which continued right up until I burned my house down.

Soon after, I saw a Facebook post from a friend who used to smoke over a carton per week and was trying electronic cigarettes.  So I started to do some research and they seemed like they might be just the thing.  No fire, no ash, no smoke, no smell.  So I decided to give them a try.

The first obstacle at the moment is where to buy them.  While you can order them online that was not an option for me since…well..my house burned down!

Fortunately we have a relatively new Walgreens where they sell a couple different brands.  I just went with the Finity for no particular reason and got the disposable at first.  And then once I decided they were going to work, I went and got the kit, that includes refills, 2 battery units and a recharger pack.

I would highly recommend the e-cigs for a lot of reasons.    First, of course, no fire, ash or smell to contend with, which makes them more socially acceptable.  You can smoke anywhere. Second is that they don’t seem to impact health as much.  I breathe better and do not have the persistent cough I had when smoking the regular ones.  As far as cost, it is about the same though there are claims they save money.  I think they cost slightly more, but the benefits make up for any extra cost.

I happened to stumble upon Dr. Vapor who nicely explains the basics of e-cigs:

2 Responses to E-Cigs: An initial Review

  1. Dave says:

    Thanks, and good luck with it! Hope you find you can stay on them, instead of regular cigarettes.

  2. Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post
    reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

