Social Shaping or Gaming Your Weight Loss

Okies, so yesterday I spilled about how bad things had gotten.  And that felt pretty good.  And when you lay it all out and look over the damages, the perspective sort of helps guide things a bit.  It’s not going to be easy, but staying the same isn’t easy either.

I can not control what Arwyn does, but I can control what I do and how I look.

Back on 2007, I did the weightloss thing and posted here and got a lot of good support and a fair amount of advice as well as the advice that I was giving out.  It was a a very steady program, and this blog helped with that.  But I think I was helped more by being in the “Biggest Loser” contest at work.  It was the competitiveness as well as the fact I found an exercise that I liked.

Today, I am sharing a couple of links I found to places that have some aspects of what worked for me: Competion and social networking.

First off is Fitocracy, which is all about exercising.  It has points and quests and challenges and then you get to share these with your network.  And there are all sorts of groups and networks including zombie apocolypse enthusiasts.  Yes…they are getting in shape to outrun zombies.  And you can like and comment on each other’s progress, just like Facebook.  You can do all sorts of exercises too, from just the running to kayaking to different exercise machines.  I wonder….

Shoot!  Maybe this is an old cartoon…sex should be worth something!  Hehe…that 3rd panel is a good illustration of my life: Sex…activity not found.  That is one side treatment effect of being a big lazy slug.  I don’t care as much.

The other site I looked at actually balances the Fitocracy exercise network by doing almost the same thing only it focuses on eating and calorie intake.  It is cleverly called Calorie Counter.  It’s not as big or popular as its exercise-based sibling, but I’m thinking there is a sort of synergy between these two sites that seems natural.  People SHOULD do both.  Exercise alone, without  paying attention to calories and types of foods and portions just isn’t going to do it.

SO, I thought someone else out there might be interested.  Maybe some of you have done one of these and might want to share a review.  Fitocracy is pretty big so I wouldn’t be surprised if a few of my reader folks might have heard of that one.  The Calorie Count is one I fished from a link of a link from the Fitocracy blog.  Yeah, I’m beating the lurker bush to see what tumbles out!  Course I need readers to have lurkers don’t I?  Darn logic and rationality ambush me every time!

14 Responses to Social Shaping or Gaming Your Weight Loss

  1. Dave says:

    It sounds like a great idea, to re-start taking care of yourself. I always think that it’s a good cycle, the better I feel the more I want to feel better, and it builds- so anything you do to get healthier is a great thing! Good luck with it!

  2. Xavier says:

    Yeah, finding something to work towards is usually rewarding. For you, weight loss and health. For me, firewood and vegetables …..

    …. gotta find some goodness.

    • diggerjones says:

      No firewood here, though I do turn some wood into mulch each winter. And I do vegatables but just not quite on the scale you’re doing. I much prefer perennial fruits, where harvesting and pruning are the major tasks.

  3. Ginny says:

    Another lurker here……….glad to see you’re writing again in this space. Not glad to hear that things have been so crummy for you during this gap of time, but I agree that working on your fitness is a great to start loving yourself again. It seems as though you do not love yourself at all but rather loathe being you. Please don’t feel that way.

    One question about your marriage, aren’t your kids getting older now? Would separation/divorce still be completely out of the question? I believe, like some others, that your example of marriage is a very bad one for your children to live with and they most certainly will try to emulate this when they are grown up and married, a bad cycle indeed. Not to mention that the nature of your marriage to Arwyn has de-volved into a living death for you (and maybe for her, but she seems kinda dead in many ways by her own choice). So, ironically you might be doing the best thing for your kids if in fact you did NOT stay married to their mother.

    Good luck with your fitness goals, and again glad you’re back!xo

    • diggerjones says:

      Ages 13 and 10, and the oldest is on the autistic spectrum. There is no ideal time to pull the plug, in my opinion, but what do I know. Our marriage is far from perfect but it could be a worse train wreck if we fought all the time and beat each other. but yeah, I always weigh it out and try to get a feel for when the best time might be, if ever and if I live that long.

  4. Mu Ling says:

    Hey, glad you’re back. Keep going, please? I was a blogger too, back in the day. A minor one.

    I took a look at myself the other day and saw the reality: 30 lbs overweight, a smoker (like you I relapsed after a successful quit), drinking too much. I saw that my house was a mess, the yard was a mess. It’s so banal, but my husband didn’t do this to me. I did this to me. Because I’ve been so demoralized all these years, I’ve given up on everything, not just on sex. I don’t know what to do with that insight, but I can relate to much of what you describe. I can’t control what he does, but I can control what I put in my mouth, chew and swallow. That’s not him, that’s me. I can control whether I have 3 or 4 beers every night.

    • diggerjones says:

      Mu Ling! I remember you! Yeah, Arwyn did not do this, per se and even if she left tomorrow I would still have to deal with these issues I have. So the logical thing to do is deal with the other issues so the other one is not made worse. easier said than done!

  5. Craig says:

    Hi Digger. What’s all this?!? You’re posting more often than twice a year, all of a sudden? Sheesh; how am I supposed to keep up with that?

    Sorry to see that it’s staus quo for you. I have really hoped that you had found your way to a better place with Arwyn. But there’s hope, and there’s reality, eh?

    Not much has changed here, either. I’m blogging under my real (first) name now, and referring to Molly by hers, as well. We’re still crazy about each other, and our kids are still breaking our hearts, altho they’ve kinda rotated, and the ones that were breaking our hearts back when are doing pretty well now, and the ones that were doing well have decided to jump off the cliff. Our oldest just turned 30, our youngest is 10 now, and our teenagers are #s 6 & 7. Stop by and say Hi, if you care to. . .

    The old group of bloggers has pretty much evaporated. I’ve made a few new friends, but like Xavier says, it’s been gettin’ pretty quiet around blog-space, lately. . .

    • diggerjones says:

      Good to hear from you…erm..Craig. Seems weird calling you that. Yeah, I think kids take turns acting out as they go through various stages. You just happen to have an especially long and stretched out rotation…you season never ends!

  6. Aphron says:

    Wow! Two posts in as many days. Things seem to be about the same. There is nothing new under the sun.

    The easiest thing for me is decreasing my carbs. I start feeling less hungry, I eat less food (calories), and I lose the weight. However, I said \”easiest\”. Doesn\’t mean easy. Good luck

  7. Val says:

    DE-lurking to put in my plug for dailymile.com – I have been tracking all my workouts there for, I dunno, almost 2 yrs?? not that it’s made one ounce of difference in my weight, but it HAS made me more consistent. I don’t do the aerobics for weight control anyway; it’s my AD of choice.
    (Glad to see new posts from ya, but sad that you’re in the same low spot… Can’t say that either one of us has made any major breakthroughs however 😦

  8. Val says:

    I’m tempted to look at Fitocracy, but waste FAR FAR FAR too much time in cyberspace now as it is!
    There’s a zombie-outrunning app for the iPhone that I’ve been considering, if & when I make the commitment to train for another half-marathon…

Leave a Reply

