Occupied

In my last entry, a couple of folks insinuated that I might be more into my laptop than my wife.  Hmm.  I have to think on that one.

I mean, my laptop is pretty reliable.  So far, turns on whenever I push the proper button.  In Windows, it takes awhile to warm up, but once it does, it runs pretty well.  In Linux, it turns on faster and responds quicker.

Note to whoever invents a digital robot spouse: needs to make sure that she is able to dual boot between OS platforms.

When Arwyn is so uninterested in me and resists whatever  overtures I make toward her (and not just sexual) then I’m going to find other things to occupy my time. And oddly enough, she spends as much time on the computer as I do.  In fact, I probably spend more time offline than she does because I do have other interests once the kids are in bed.  I had been watching Lost and a couple of other shows on Hulu.  I have also been reading a few books.  I also listen to a lot of podcasts and audio books.  These I do while she’s either sleeping or on the computer.

I love the internet because it is such a rich repository of knowledge.  When the tornado touched down here last year and I needed to fix the roof, I found video on Youtube on how to do it.  When I wanted to make pesto, I found the recipe and a video on Youtube on how to do it.  I’ve been trying to listen to a number of free audio books from Librivox.  Mark Twain stories go over well. Try Extracts from Adam’s Diary; hilarious!  Fannie Hill took a fair amount of time and was interesting in that different readers read different chapters.  But it is such a literary classic, everyone should read it or listen to it.  Pilgrims Progress does not go as easily and neither does Orthodoxy. But I have discovered that this is a good way to access good public domain literature while driving or doing something else where reading isn’t possible.  And I don’t know if I would go for literature any other way.

I also listen to a number of podcasts.  One of my favorite musical ones is Mark Gunn’s Irish and Celtic Music Podcasts.  It’s definitely worth checking out, even if you’re not Irish.

A while back, someone had mentioned that they were reading N.T. Wright.  I had to look him up.  Although I had heard of him, I hadn’t read him so decided I might get a book or two.  While waiting for my books, I was looking for podcasts and stumbled upon one he did with Anne Rice.

Anne Rice?  The woman who wrote about Vampires?

Yep.  That was the one.  I had no idea she had become a Christian and had been writing Christian novels/fiction.  So I got and just finished Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt. The non-Kindle version.  This is a curious book, but it is exceedingly well-written.  I recommend reading Rice’s testimony in the back of the book before reading the rest of it as it will help add a lot of the context.  Rice was raised a Catholic and returned to that flavor of faith when she was converted.  So there are more than a few influences of that in the novel.  However, there are enough things contained therein to offend pretty much anyone looking to be offended.  But if you remember that this is a work of fiction that contains a lot of research and scholarship, it should go down better which is why I recommend reading her ex[laination of how she came to write it.  You can also catch her podcast with NT Wright.

Wright writes a lot like CS Lewis, with that same sort of scholarly, English style of writing supported by the dry wit of someone who knows his material but also knows people.  I ordered two books.  I found that I sort of stalled out while reading For All God’s Worth and after 2 chapters picked up Rice’s book and read that one to completion.  But now I find I’m more easily able to handle it.  I’m also looking forward to reading Surprised by Hope.

So you see, I do have some other interests going on , in addition to considering a career change keeping and up with the boys who are each involved in different sports and activities.  And teaching Sunday School.

So I keep pretty busy with other things that function as diversions from the lack of intimacy in my marriage.  We’ve also had a hiatus from counseling for the past few weeks and I haven’t exactly missed it.

Okay, that’s enough content for the moment.  I’ll see if I can pick up the pace just a tad this summer, in between all my other stuff. Yeah, you may have noticed that blogging didn’t even make the above list of things occupying my time.

D.

7 Responses to Occupied

  1. Dave says:

    Plenty on that list; I’ve read a lot of Anne Rice, but haven’t yet gotten into the post-conversion writings. A couple of them are on “the list” for summer, so I’ll check them out.

    What flavor linux? I’m debating a couple of different distros at the moment.

  2. diggerjones says:

    Anne Rice is a good writer, and the newer genre doesn’t disappoint as long as you’re not intent on vampires.

    Download and burn some live Linux CDs. They just keep getting better and better! My laptop is running Mandriva 2008, and I have 2009.0 on on an older desktop. I’ve resisted the ubiquitous Ubuntu but the latest version looks *really* awesome. I think I’m going to be having all my newest distros on persistent USB drives just so I don’t have to commit!

  3. Dave says:

    Yes, the live cd’s are how I’ve been testing. I’ve tried a couple of versions of Ubuntu, currently I’m playing with Mepis, which seems to be better on the Toshiba hardware.

  4. diggerjones says:

    I went ahead and devoted a whole post to Linux on my other blog, so folks can get their beanie propellers spinning over there!

  5. MP says:

    It doesn’t really matter whether you actually prefer the laptop to her company. SHE THINKS YOU DO.

    You find other things to occupy your time because you think she’s not interested in you, so why shouldn’t she do the same? If it hurts you to think that she’d rather spend time with a box than with you, then you know exactly how she feels.

    Maybe you should suggest that the two of you have one computer-free night per week. The internet will still be there when you turn it back on.

  6. Hey, Digger, I don’t have much to say here, other than its nice to hear from you again.

  7. FTN says:

    I’m late getting to comment on this (can’t comment on WordPress from work) but I did want to say I’m glad you are reading some N.T. Wright. I’m probably the one that suggested it. Some of it is great. I like “The Challenge of Jesus” and “Simply Christian” and “Evil and the Justice of God.”

    Although I admit I may not have gotten all the way through at least one of those…

Leave a Reply

