At Least the Suspense is over

football

football

Each year at this time, I keep wondering where things might go and I look back to where I’ve been. And by reading a lot of you, you know what I’m talking about because a lot of you are football fans. And perhaps Charlie Brown fans.

It was an enjoyable day today, overall. But I was kind of hoping for a bit…er…more. And it is mostly my fault for expecting stuff that I may have no business expecting. I mean, it’s always been this way, and I’ve always landed on my back without kicking that football. But each year I have this hope that THIS will be the year. Afterall, there have been some remarkable breakthroughs. This time last year I was in the middle of a 2 year drought. So we are already better off and two weeks isn’t all that big of a deal mostly.

I was at 196 last year and now I’m closer to 206, and going in the wrong direction! I need to get wit the program!

I got new socks (black!) shorts that were on clearance (it’s cold here in Georgia– 46 or something like that!) and some new exercise shorts. So I’ll have to make a new video or two. And Arwyn did take us out to eat to a place I’ve gotten to like the past few months for their zalads. We put the kids to bed and then it was bed time for one of us. Blog time for the other.

It’s actually bed time for me, now, but I figured I would sort of live blog here. Going to give this here couch a work out first, though.

7 Responses to At Least the Suspense is over

  1. aphron says:

    The human condition is such that we are rarely satisfied with our lot. We tend to want more and better, yet we never REALLY achieve that. In light of how things were going, I would say that you and Arwyn have made tremendous progress. Will things ever be were you like them? I don’t know. This time last year it was doubtful for you all to be here, now. You are blessed.

  2. C-Marie says:

    I agree with Aphron. You’ve made wonderful progress and I’m so jealous! Really!

    But… I truly do think that we can be satiisfied but with the fortitude to learn that it can’t always be on our terms. Being thankful for what we have and for what we’ve overcome has lots of satisfaction. Compromise is the other answer but you already know that… so what if you’re not getting laid but every other week or so, it sure the hell beats that 2 year drought!
    (not to mention, you’re not getting it a heck of a lot more than I am!!!)

    🙂

  3. C-Marie says:

    You ARE getting it more than I am!!!
    (I’m nothing but a walking typo today – I quit!)

  4. diggerjones says:

    Well, yeah, Aphron, you don’t always get what you want! I do understand that to a pretty great extent, and I have been grateful for the progress, no doubt. But there is some slippage going on around here, and not in a good way. I don’t want to go back there!’

    True, C-Marie, I might be on top this year, but I don’t think I’m at a point where I think it will never revert back to involuntary celibacy. Complacency has too high of a price tag. Which means I’m going to have to be confrontational or assertive or something.

    And I was just hoping that birthday sex just might possibly be on the menu this year. You would think that if there was one time a guy might be able to count on a little bit of fun from his wife in their birthday suits, it would be on or around his birthday.

  5. aphron says:

    Breaking bad habits and making fundamental changes takes a lot of effort, patience, and time. I’m sure you know that there will be periods of slippage. Since ya’ll’s communication is better, those periods will be less and less, hopefully.

    As for birthday sex, I, too, get overly optimistic each year. Each year it is a big let down. Having “Great Expectations” only leads to disappointment and resentment.

  6. Cat says:

    I think the key to happiness is disappointment. It keeps us from settling, it helps us to appreciate when things are better, and it keeps us from being complacent. So on the one hand it sucks that the birthday sex didn’t happen. But on the other it probably helps to push you into being assertive, confrontational, or something…And the same goes for the weight. BUT I also have to add what I always do which is don’t be too hard on yourself. You ARE making progress on both fronts and you should be proud of where you are, just keep pushing for more.

  7. diggerjones says:

    Yes, Aphron, the progress does seem to follow the communication. More communication might mean more conflict at the outset but if we can get through that, we’re better off in the long run. Unfortunately, it’s kind of crappy as of late.

    “The key to happiness is disappointment”

    Okay, that is just a contradiction that almost makes sense. The key to life is death. The key to Heaven is Hell. The key to love is hate? Okay, I do get the power of redemptive suffering but it’s awfully hard to equate this with happiness especially in the midst of it! But it does at least offer some hope in it.
    D.

Leave a Reply

