Fun Things to Do

Arwyn and the boys were out of town, and I had the place to myself for almost the whole week, Monday-Friday. They got back Friday afternoon and I was really glad to see them. But it was also nice to have a week where I could do whatever I wanted. And I really did have fun.

– 1 bottle of wine (That took a coule of days)
– 1 6 pack of beer (As a tribute to the first Republican VP candidate…also took 2 days)
– 1 gallon of ice cream. Butter Pecan + chocolate almond. That took less time than either of the alcoholic beverages
– 1 pound dark chocolate M&Ms
– 1/2 pound cashews
– 3 rented DVDs (American Pie Wedding, Jurassic Park 3, 300)
– Catching up on other’s blogs and commenting – while buck naked
– Getting my blog traffic back up by starting a flame war
– NOT smoking
-Rode a couple miles on the bike

Looking at this list, it’s pretty clear that I tend toward being self-destructive and excess when she and the kids are away. But I also did do some bike riding and didn’t smoke, which is good. The smoking bit was actually really, really hard which is probably why I indulged in other various vices. But Arwyn does help me be a better person and want to be a better person. By the end of the third day, I was ready for her and the boys to come home. It was a nice break, but I’m glad its over too. It was like a mini-vacation which made me appreciate what I have even more.

And you can only imagine the weight gain this week. Egad, I have some serious work to do right through the holidays to make up for this one!
D.

7 Responses to Fun Things to Do

  1. Sounds like you got a move to bust!

    However, seriously well done not smoking the entire time!

  2. cocotte says:

    Glad you were able to refrain from one vice!

  3. Rosie says:

    The ice cream is so tempting. It’s been just too long I can understand giving into one, ok two temptations, because I want the M & Ms also. And of course every one who lives alone walks around, or types, naked. Oops, secret is out.

  4. Desmond Jones says:

    Wow, Digger, other than ‘300’, those are some awful flix! Serious boredom, eh?

    And, uh, the naked blogging thing – I’d’ve been better off not knowing that, I think. . .

  5. FTN says:

    “Rode a couple miles on the bike.”

    And only 12,390 more miles to work off the calories in all that ice cream, beer, and candy!

    Seriously, it’s great you held off on the smoking, though. And to say “But Arwyn does help me be a better person and want to be a better person,” I think that’s a pretty big deal right there.

  6. aphron says:

    Sybil and the kids visit her parents every summer. I look forward to that time 11 months out of the year. Oh yeah, I did all of the things you did. It is fantastic. However, I do miss them and am happy to see them. Even Sybil.

    It is great, isn’t it?

  7. C-Marie says:

    The wine, chocolate and blogging weren’t the worst of your choices! (Blogging naked could’ve been a whole new post!)

    I’ll have to say when I’m rewarded with ALONE time… I tend to be more productive than usual. I do what I want, when I want and how I want and nobody gets in the way (or hurt!) I LOVE my Alone time. Although, I missed my son throughout the summer like crazy!

Leave a Reply

