198.4

No, that’s not a misprint.  For the first time since starting this little adventure, my weight has remained the same on weigh-in day.  Actually, Monday morning happens to be the worst day to weigh-in for me because I don’t always exercise on Sunday and often end up snacking and eating heavier on weekends.  In my last entry I had dropped a couple extra pounds but rebounded in the meantime.  But I’m not making a huge deal, yet.  I’ll just work a bit harder during the week.  I’m thinking I’ll see if I can get my stepcount up in the 5000-7000 range per workout.  That represents almost a full day’s regular walking beck when I wore a pedometer.  Getting it done in 30-40 minutes is the trick.

 

Moving on…

 

Christian Husband recently wrote about hating group projects, which is a loathing I share.  But there is a type of schoolwork that I hate even more.  That would be The Project project.  You know the ones.  They often involve constructing miniature nuclear reactors, scale models of windmills or some other silly craft work.  I remember in 7th grade social studies, we had to make some sort of tool.  Someone made a wooden waterwheel.  Someone else made the windmill.  Others made assorted crafts that required lathes, table saws, arc welders, soldering irons and oscilloscopes.  I cut a tree branch, bent it and tied the ends with a string.  Found a straight stick, sharpened it and voila! Bow and arrow. 

 

In 8th grade, we had a similar project that involved making something from the 1800’s.  I made a model of a still with tin foil, oatmeal containers and straws.  It wasn’t very neat or flashy compared to everyone else’s, but it was definitely made by me.

 

I hated these crafty projects, because my parents were mostly busy making a living on the farm and these things always seemed to take place during harvest or planting season.  So it was up to me to do the things on my own which meant I was most definitely not be using the arc welder or the power saw.

 

Thanks to parenthood, I get to relive this insanity.  My oldest, Thomas, who happens to be in the second grade, was assigned a project involving doing a report on something in the solar system.  This involves having a visual aid.  He was assigned “Earth” so at least it wasn’t too exotic but also not terribly interesting. 

 

Today, Arwyn tried to help him construct a model of Earth using homemade play-doh.  But she discovered halfway into the prroject that we didn’t have enough salt.  She still made a go of it, so we’ll see if it gets painted or not.  Next, she went out and bought poster board, getting home late.  

 

After doing some work on the posterboard, They went off to do something else.  Then my youngest found a marker and drew artistic squiggles on the poster.  AAARGHH!

 

Did I mention that this thing is due tomorrow?

 

Yeah.

 

I HATE these things.  Regular homework is bad enough.  This project junk is for the birds, because parents end up having to lay out the money for supplies and do a great deal of the work.  It’s like the group work only you’re doing it for a course you’ve already taken and and someone else gets the grade.  It becomes less about the kids and more about the parents.  No wonder more parents are choosing homeschooling.  At least then you get to choose the project.

 

D.

7 Responses to 198.4

  1. rmpltskn says:

    Amen. I was just discussing this last night with another mom–while we were talking about homeschooling. It’s sounding better all the time.

  2. FTN says:

    I made the standard erupting volcano for a science project when I was in the third grade. That stuff got everywhere. I’m glad my kids aren’t old enough to be assigned that kind of crap yet.

    I’m sure by that point I’ll wish my kids were homeschooled. I’m all about the homeschooling, but that’s definitely not something Autumn is interested in.

  3. Cat says:

    I swear I think the projects are just another test to prove the parents are involved in their child’s education. A test I can do without thank you very much. This year Cam’s project was “the Heritage Project” where he had to show his family tree, produce stories and family traditions, and of course visual aids. Umm and how a 5th grader would have this information or be able to obtain it without their parent’s help is beyond me. But why the school insists on forcing parents to spend x amount of hours on going through 5th grade history for the 2nd or 3rd time is beyond me.

    Oh and congrats on 198.4 you aren’t gaining which is a good thing.

  4. Square1 says:

    I too hated those projects. It becomes a competition of whose parents are the wealthiest and have the most time to waste when it comes to how good of a grade you get. I remember one year we did projects on energy sources. One girl had a father who worked for the power company. He helped her build a to scale model of a city block with street lights that were complete with the photo-sensors that turn the real thing on and off. Needless to say the rest of the classes projects paled by comparison to hers. Can you imagine the bill her dad racked up at Radio Shack for that one?

  5. Square1 says:

    P.S. That wasn’t a reason I chose home-schooling for my children, but it does reaffirm my decision to do so!

  6. Dave says:

    I don’t think it’s a test to see if the parent’s are involved.. I think it’s payback, for all the projects that I didn’t do when I was supposed to.

  7. C-Marie says:

    I will also agree that it’s geared more towards more parent involvement. I don’t remember my parents living and breathing my days of schooling and I did just fine. It’s the new approach to group learning but I will also say, it’s a lot about the lack of teacher involvment – back in the day, I’ve often felt as if I were conducting school around the supper table! I always had that question: “What do you do during school?”

Leave a Reply

