203.8

The number in the title does no justice to the twisted journey it took to get there.  I’m chomping at the bit to get below 200 and so have been breaking certain rules.  One of them is weighing myself more than once per week.

At one point,  was down to 201.8.  Hey, hey!  I was feeling pretty good at that point!

But then we went on an overnight road trip.  Which means no exercise and eating out.  I tried being good.  Really.  But a couple of fast food sandwiches and fries later (I thought the Diet Cokes would offset–no dice) I got home and step on the old scale and it reads 207.2!

YOUCH!

I spent the day mowing the lawn AND stepping for at least an hour. And eating salad.

Fiber is my best friend.

There’s one other resolution that has been going, going gone, and that has been the whole smoking thing.  I’ve not been doing so well the past month, gradually getting back into it all over again.  So I’ll have to get out of it all over again.  I feel like I’m trying to fight a war on too many fronts at the moment.  I’m sticking to the weight/exercise thing because, well, there’s some cash on the line.  There is with smoking too, but that isn’t quite as direct.  It’s a slow, gradual thing so I’ll have to think about some way of keeping score with that and get motivated again.

But there’s just something about a good smoke after an intense workout, you know?

No?

I guess that’s just me.   Or maybe if they had smoking areas at the gym they’d get a lot more members.

D.

3 Responses to 203.8

  1. Square1 says:

    Keep up the good work, and don’t get discouraged.

  2. Dave says:

    I often feel silly, as I try to (and need to begin again) workout, even minimally- and then smoke. Glad that it’s not just me.

  3. Emily says:

    Digger, you are doing really well. At the same time, if there is a trade-off to be made on diet and smoking, the smoking is far more important.

    Losing 1 pound a week is actually a very good rate of weight loss – statistically, the most likely to be kept off. Quick loss usually leads to a quick regain, but a slower rate is easier for your body to sustain and the time it takes is good training in new habits.

Leave a Reply

