204.4

I have a post or two that I’ve started but none have been finished or developed enough to get published.  But at least I have the whole weekly weight thing I’m committed to, right?

 

I am at a tough spot as far as weight loss.  I suppose I should be thankful that I’m not gaining.  I finally got that 2 pound bag of chocolate chips out of the house…by eating them!  I have a serious weakness for chocolate of the semi-sweet variety and discovered these little fat mines while looking in the pantry for something else.  The butterscotch chips are not nearly as tempting but they are there.

 

I’ve spoken about the exercise ad nauseam but haven’t said much about my diet apart from cutting down to 1500 calories per day.  So watching Food Network for a few hours got me thinking about it. 

 

People will claim that eating healthy costs more than eating junk.  Pound-for-pound, that might actually be true, but portion size is one of the single biggest causes of obesity.  We like to super size all of our meals and I’ve been hideous about that in my previous life of gluttony.  I could pack in huge amounts of food, so I relied on cheap carbs to fill me up.  However, halving my calorie intake makes eating sensibly more economical and pays dividends, healthwise. 

 

Eating out is a serious challenge to anyone wanting to lose weight.  While I’m as happy eating at home as anywhere, my wife and kids love eating out.  So last week, we did give it a shot and went to the local Subway.  Not exactly high end, but it represented something I thought I could work into the plan.  And Subway is nice enough to plaster their nutritional information on their menu, the wrapping, their counter and even their napkins.  At around 350 calories for a 6″ sub, they aren’t too out of line as long as you don’t get the Doritos.  Instead of cheese and mayo, go for hot peppers and mustard.  And skip the drink.

 

I have just a few dietary staples that have been carrying me through the past 6 weeks or so.

 

Breakfast:

1 16 oz smoothie w/ plain nonfat yogurt, skim milk, srawberrries, banana and peaches OR 1 bowl of Cheerios with skim milk, strawberries or blackberries.

 

Lunch: 3 Tacquitos made with: corn tortillas, refried beans, ground turkey, tomatoes, garlic, onion, hot sauce and some sweet corn.  I figure these are about 120 calories each and I make 60 or so at a time and freeze them then reheat at 1 minute each.

 

Dinner: 1 hamburger made with:

Ground turkey, egg, worceshire sauce, minced garlic and oatmeal dressed out with tomato, onion and mustard on wheat bread.

 

Snacks consist of either an apple or grapes.

 

I can do this routine pretty much everyday, day after day.  Occasionally I’ll have a chicken breast instead of the hamburger and will do a salad of cucumbers, broccoli, tomato and onion with a fat free low cal dressing.

 

But as you can see, this is light on carbs and higher in protein and fiber than my old pasta/bread/potato based diet.

 

BTW, I did get my answer to Square1‘s Question: What do you know about Islam? on my other blog, Unsolicited Advice.   It might be sort of disturbing, which wasn’t my initial intent but it sort of evolved into something else in its own.  Oh well.

 

D.

 

7 Responses to 204.4

  1. Dave says:

    Good for you, to keep working at it. It’s a hard thing to keep up, day in and day out, so be pleased with that!

  2. C-Marie says:

    Congratualtions in the weight war! I’ve been checking here regularly to see the losses! I’m glad… and you’re so very right when it comes to portions! We really don’t need to sacrifice a whole lot but to just eat smaller amounts at more consistant intervals. (with exercise, of course) I’ve had a hard time dropping just a few pounds that crept up on me over the past 2 years. I walk for an hour, briskly, 3x a week and oatmeal is a must in my diet at least twice a day. It was easy to drop 5-7 lbs right away but it hasn’t been easy reaching my chosen goal. *sigh* Age doesn’t help out one damn bit! 🙂

  3. Square1 says:

    I’m so glad you’re not going to extremes. Low carb is definitely healthier than a no carb approach. We’ve just been trying to introduce healthier foods over time, though with being on the run so much lately, fast food pit stops have not helped much. Meanwhile I just keep climbing those flights of stairs trying to remind myself that eventually I’ll be able to climb them without getting winded. Maybe Insha’ Allah I will be able to bound up them without breaking a sweat. You know, like I used to before having kids! 😛

  4. Square1 says:

    I’m so glad you’re not going to extremes. Low carb is definitely healthier than a no carb approach. We’ve just been trying to introduce healthier foods over time, though with being on the run so much lately, fast food pit stops have not helped much. Meanwhile I just keep climbing those flights of stairs trying to remind myself that eventually I’ll be able to climb them without getting winded. Maybe Insha’ Allah I will be able to bound up them without breaking a sweat. You know, like I used to before having kids! 😛

  5. FTN says:

    Jared would be so proud of you about the whole Subway thing.

  6. Square1 says:

    Sorry for the double post. I’m not sure how that one happened.

  7. diggerjones says:

    Well, I was just reading an article that says that melting off 1-2 pounds a week is about right. I can see why people give up on it, as it is a lot of hard work! Like you said Dave, day in and day out!

    Age, C-Marie? I’ve seen those pictures and you still look extraordinarily young! But I do know all about it. I’m approaching 44, and for some reason I have felt my resiliency decline a lot. It takes longer to recover from things!

    I’m not a huge fan of oatmeal as a hot cereal, Square, so it’s good that you are. Notice, though, that I put that into my burgers? It stretches out the $$$ per pound, plus adds some fiber into it. win, win. Fast food is such a killer and know it too well. However I’m working at my own fast food solutions. Those Tacquitoes are frozen and reheated at 1 minute each. I cook a whole batch of those burgers and reheat them 1:30 each. The boys love them as long as we have hamburger buns in the house. And ketchup.

    Heh, yeah I was thinking about Jared. But I live entirely too far to walk to a Subway. I also prefer to make my own so can have better control of the carbs and the cost. $5 is a lot for a sandwich, IMHO.

    I’s delete the seconds post, Square, but I think it looks cute. Plus it inflates my comment count.

    D.

Leave a Reply

