Happy B’day Arwyn!

Arwyn’s birthday was yesterday and I really did try to make the best of it. The boys were both really into it, especially the whole thing with the cake and candles. But I was exhausted from being up so late the night before baking the thing! Yes, I made the carrot cake totally from scratch while cheating on the cream cheese frosting. Arwyn doesn’t much like frosting anyway, so it was a pretty thin layer.

I also made my version of bourbon chicken, which she requested. Again, it was some serious work but went off pretty well.

I did find a $40 camera that met the minimum criteria for a digital camera, but still a far cry from the Nikon she had. She may end up taking it back. If anyone would have asked either of my boys what their mother wanted for their birthday, they would have told you: A camera and money. I suppose the whole money thing is entirely more practical than world peace, a happy home or good health. But I’m sure that’s exactly what she wished for when she blew out the candles. She got the camera plus $50, so she can get a better one if she wants. But I don’t have anymore to give her right now. I’m sure her Dad sent her a fat check, so she’ll probably have a lot more to spend this weekend.

Next week we have our 10 year wedding anniversary. We have not made any plans and haven’t even really discussed it. Any bets?

I have more thoughts on some conversations working their way around blogland, but not a lot of time to post. I’ll just do what I can, when I can and try to keep up with the reading!

D.

One Response to Happy B’day Arwyn!

  1. freebird says:

    Lots of celebating then, digger!

Leave a Reply

