Making up for lost time…

FTN’s kid post inspired me to add my tidbit. But read his first. It’s funnier and more entertaining.

My oldest (7 y.o.) has a hard time waking up for the bus, which arrives at 6:40 a.m. He drags, and resists and will do anything to stay in bed and stay asleep. It’s like he simply can NOT keep his eyes open.

But come the weekend or any school break…

He simply MUST be up at 5:30 a.m. It never fails. I ask him why he can’t sleep in once in awhile and he just gives me a look as if I’m the one who is crazy.

Failure to get up with him has resulted in:

– Him getting his brother up, which involves considerable yelling and screaming
– An entire bunch of peeled bananas piled in the center of the living room.
– Him feeding the fish an entire container of fissh food
– Finger painting with food…usually grape jelly. on the carpet.
-Drinking maple syrup
-Eating cold pizza. Actually that’s not so bad, as I’ve done that a time or two.

The one time he slept in until 8:00 a.m., we were so nervous we couldn’t sleep! We had to keep checking on him to make sure he was still breathing!

D.

One Response to Making up for lost time…

  1. Sounds like I’m a lot like your son. M-F I can’t seem to wake up for anything. I get out of bed 15 minutes befor I have to BE at work.
    Come S&S I’m wide awake at 5:15 ion the morning. Which leads to a hloe problem of it’s own. I can’t fall asleep, don’t want to get out of bed, and I can’t keep my hands off my wife. Which leads to irritatedness on her part until she has fully awakened.
    CH

Leave a Reply

