Happy 50th Anniversary!

10/16/2005

Sunday

I’m thinking about giving R&R a rest, at least until something exciting happens. Actually, I do have a couple of posts in the hopper ready to post, and I’ll have to see where I’m at. I think I’m getting really close to post #100. I think I’ll have a bit of a treat for y’all on that one.

In the meantime, today we celibrate another milestone in the Jones household. Or celibate, more like. Yes, a celibacy celibration…a celibation. Fifty days of no sex between Arwyn and I. Think about that for a minute. In the last 50 days, gas has gone up over 80 cents per gallon. 50 days ago was before Hurricanes Katrina and Rita. People in New Orleans were still living and working normally and the temperatures were in the 90’s. It was still summer. William Renquist was still alive and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. Britney Spears hadn’t had her baby, yet. The Atlanta Braves hadn’t even started their coountdown to their 14th straight division title. It’s actually difficult to think back 50 days, because our world moves so quickly and so many things happen in a 24 hour period according to the news and the internet.

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court changed, the price of fuel changed, and the seasons changed, the Braves season is over but one thing stayed the same: Arwyn and Digger did not have any sort of sexual intimacy. Not even a handjob.

Now I should feel somewhat lucky, because Desperate Husband, as of this writing, is approaching his 100th day with no sex. Hurricane season had barely even started the last time he got laid, and the Supreme Court still had all of its original members. It was still well before baseball’s Allstar break I wonder if Britney even knew she was pregnant back then?LOL!

Back in August, when we did have sex, I had just celibated 46 days of no sex. So in the last 100 days, I have had sex twice as much as DH. Which would be twice. At least I’ve got that going for me. Which is nice.

Hey…a body has to look on the bright side of life.

Great. Now I have that bloody Monty Python song going through my ‘ead.

words and music by Eric Idle

Some things in life are bad
They can really make you mad
Other things just make you swear and curse.
When you’re chewing on life’s gristle
Don’t grumble, give a whistle
And this’ll help things turn out for the best…

And…always look on the bright side of life…
Always look on the light side of life…

If life seems jolly rotten
There’s something you’ve forgotten
And that’s to laugh and smile and dance and sing.
When you’re feeling in the dumps
Don’t be silly chumps
Just purse your lips and whistle – that’s the thing.

And…always look on the bright side of life…
Always look on the light side of life…

For life is quite absurd
And death’s the final word
You must always face the curtain with a bow.
Forget about your sin – give the audience a grin
Enjoy it – it’s your last chance anyhow.

So always look on the bright side of death
Just before you draw your terminal breath

Life’s a piece of shit
When you look at it
Life’s a laugh and death’s a joke, it’s true.
You’ll see it’s all a show
Keep ’em laughing as you go
Just remember that the last laugh is on you.

And always look on the bright side of life…
Always look on the right side of life…
(Come on guys, cheer up!)
Always look on the bright side of life…
Always look on the bright side of life…
(Worse things happen at sea, you know.)
Always look on the bright side of life…
(I mean – what have you got to lose?)
(You know, you come from nothing – you’re going back to nothing.
What have you lost? Nothing!)
Always look on the right side of life…

D.

Update: Well hell, there goes THAT. DH actually got some last night! We’re tied, which is no fun at all. I’m happy for the guy, believe me. But still, it made my own situation not so bad, ya know?

4 Responses to Happy 50th Anniversary!

  1. C-Marie says:

    OH MY GOD!! DH got some last night???
    I gotta get over to his blog and check that out!!!

    Let’s hope that YOU don’t suffer for another 50 days!!

    Oh and BTW: Happy Anniversary!!

  2. Rob says:

    My congrats – to the both of you

  3. Dewdrop says:

    Or rather commiserations, surely, would be more fitting?

    Lucky DH :). I really hope you’re not too far behind him, Digger!

  4. aphron says:

    I always think of that song, when life is taking a turn for the worse.

Leave a Reply

