Reads that Don’t Make the Blogroll

07/13/2005

Thursday

I’m an avid reader, no doubt. I’m also getting to the point where I’m too cheap to buy books. So what am I reading?

Blogs. I adore them. The ones listed on my blogroll are only a few of those I read regularly. Those folks over on the right are co-participants in my own little journey and fit my theme, such that it is.

There are a few that simply don’t fit in my scheme, but I enjoy them anyway. Here are some of my more recent finds:

Ask The Pope: How I found this one, I couldn’t tell you. This writer is skillfully taking on the persona of the new head of the Vatican. He’s actually quite funny and only somewhat irreverent while doing it. He has quite a following and almost everyday someone leaves a comment asking him to stop by their blog and give a papal blessing. Amazingly he does this a lot of the time. Maybe I like him because here is a guy who is actually having sex less than me. The comments are also a hoot.

SC&A aka Sigmund, Carl and Alfred: Square1 plugs him shamelessly and I have enjoyed watching this blog develop. He started out loosely writing from the perspectives of Freud, Jung and Adler on various topics, and occasionally doing blog reviews. Keeping up three different voices quickly became too burdensome, so SC&A is sort of a corporate voice, now. Over time SC&A has become more and more of a political blog, often summerizing stories from others and occasionally adding his/their own thoughts. A very good and insightful writer who more often than not leaves the blog’s namesakes rolling in their respective graves! I had sort of hoped for a more pschologically oriented blog when I first read it, but SC&A has found a different path and does it well. It’s really the only political blog I read. It was this blog that partially inspired Unsolicited Advice.

Katie – Ramblings of a SAHM: Mommy blogs are boring. When one of my favorites goes into mommy-mode I begin to mentally drift if not physically set to scrolling on or clicking another tab. However, Katie is a guilty addiction of mine that will probably cost me my man card. Maybe it’s because she’s cute. Maybe it’s because her family is cute. It’s probably because she can take something ridiculously mundane and make it into a full-blown drama while keeping her humor. Yes, it has to be the sense of humor about having so many young kids and the trials and tribulations of living a normal life while managing her little tribe. In anycase, I’ve found myself getting drawn in. Square has her blogrolled, but I’ve “seen” her around elsewhere and it might have been a comment that suckered me in.

These are just a few of my latest finds. Most of you probably knew about these before I did, but there they are, anyway.

D.

2 Responses to Reads that Don’t Make the Blogroll

  1. Tajalude says:

    Damn Digger, now DH it seems is closing up shop. Please don’t do a review of anymore blogs… they seem to be disappearing a day later! : )
    (Just teasing, of course.)

  2. Dewdrop says:

    Yes, I know what you mean about people being too nice. I’ve said things in comments, which are exactly how I feel about something and if it’s not nice people just errrrr…well, don’t like it obviously! It’s good that people are supportive, but personally, I would prefer it if people told it like it is sometimes – regarding opinions on a subject in a blogger’s post, even if it’s not all sunshine and roses.

    I feel sort of cleansed by blogging, at least most of the time. It’s all too easy to fall into the trap of trying to please readers, but that annoys me – I don’t want to please anyone but myself, and if that’s selfish (which of course it is!) too bad. Negative posts are just a reflection I feel on how you feel in Real Life – if you’re being honest with yourself, well at least that applies to me if no-one else I think!? lol If you’re not happy with something in Real Life then a blog is going to reflect that if you chose to blog about it in some posts. As for making things worse, I find that it makes things clearer to me. I see things more objectively via my blog, and although that’s not the answer to all problems (what is?) it’s a help.

    I’m sorry to see bloggers closing, or thinking about closing, their blogs down. But of course it’s a very personal choice and everyone feels differently about that sort of thing – i.e. reasons why they blog in the first place and what (if anything) they get out of blogging.

Leave a Reply

